Electronic Voting Committee Meeting Minutes May 29, 2019

6:00PM

Kitchen Conference Room, Town Hall

Present: Susan Galvin, Kathleen Ryan Lavery, Robert Mallett, Frank Schroth, John Michael Shields

The meeting was called to order by Chair, Frank Schroth at 6:02 PM

Mr. Schroth moved to approve minutes from the May 15, 2019 meeting. Ms. Lavery seconded the motion. All members unanimously voted to accept minutes.

Mr. Schroth welcomed Town Administrator, Michael Dennehy to the committee meeting. Mr. Schroth updated Mr. Dennehy on the committee's work. Mr. Dennehy stated he was in favor of the idea, however he has concerns with funding within the budget. Mr. Schroth stated the committee shared his concerns. The committee posed the option to Mr. Dennehy of printing a limited number of warrants and no longer mailing them to residents and using the savings to offset the costs to implement electronic voting. Mr. Dennehy offered to arrange a meeting with himself and Town Counsel to discuss any legal issues and crafting bylaws. The committee thanked Mr. Dennehy for his time and support.

The committee agreed it was important to meet with various committees in town that would offer important insight. The committee nominated Chair, Frank Schroth to set-up and attend meetings with the following:

- Town Counsel, John Flynn and Town Administrator, Michael Dennehy
- Town Government Study Committee
- Bylaw Review Committee.

Mr. Schroth will report back to committee on his discussions at the next meeting.

Mr. Schroth will ask Town Moderator, Robert Hiss, for his permission to send poll survey to Town Meeting Members through the Town Clerk's email list.

The committee will meet next on June 19th.

Meeting adjourned 7:55 pm.

Submitted by: Susan M. Galvin, Secretary